Part One – The Problems…

Ideas for four separate audio problems:

  1. Go out and record sounds that are very similar to the ones that you would find in the BBC documentary sequence as well as using library sounds and SFX and copyright free music. For the voice-over, I would record a presenter’s voice in a recording studio and edit it into the sequence.
  2. For this problem, I would go through the sequence repeatedly and figure out what sounds I needed to record. I would then go out and try and create the sounds I needed, doing so through trial and error. During the editing process, I would manipulate the audio samples that I had gathered to bring the scene to life.
  3. For this problem, I would first research the target audience for BBC Radio 1 and then select an interesting current topic that would be suitable for said audience. From there, I would put together a segment covering this topic.
  4. Again, for this problem, I would start by researching BBC Radio 4’s target audience and then come up with a suitable radio drama. Once I had written and recorded the script, I would create theme music for the episode.

My chosen audio problem:

I chose to use option 2 for my sound investigation: “[choose] a 3-4 minute sequence from a foreign language film that has no sound or dialogue. This involves you working to write and record suitable dubbing, Foley sounds, library sounds, SFX and copyright free music.”

For this problem, I decided to use a scene from the Danish TV series ‘Heartless.’

Leave a Reply

