Part Three – Reflecting on success and final product…

I believe the film I have made for Vocal Arts, is fit for purpose; it presents Vocal Arts as the warm and friendly environment that it is, it shows the capabilities of Hannah and Abbe and it has a welcoming feel for potential new students.

The client was very happy with the final product saying, “It’s brilliant and we are over the moon with it. It’s super professional and so slick. Our students come across so well and it promotes Vocal Arts brilliantly.” They have also said that they will be using the film for their business.

If I could improve on the final product, I would possibly add in some information on the costs of the lessons. This would give a better idea, for the audience and potential students, of whether Vocal Arts is for them. However, my client didn’t want to have this included in the film as it would take away from their love of music and teaching which is shown in the final product and make it a bit too formal.

I think my conduct during this project was professional, from planning with the client, to organising filming times, filming during lessons and being respectful of Vocal Arts’ students, to presenting the final product. Although communication between my client and I was slightly informal, I don’t believe this was an issue as I was already familiar with the Vocal Arts business.

I found working freelance a lot more stressful, because your client is relying on you to create something that was worth their time so you don’t want disappoint them. Although I am pleased with the final product, I would be reluctant to make corporate films as a career because there is less creative freedom than in other film and TV production routes.

Overall, the experience has been both fun and stressful. I really enjoyed working with my clients, Hannah and Abbe as they are both so warm and friendly and filming something I like doing made it better. However if I were to make a corporate film for another business in the future, I would have no guarantee that they would be as friendly or cooperative and I wouldn’t necessarily be filming a subject that I enjoy.

In the end, after putting in a lot of time and effort, I am very proud of what I have made and that is reflected back in the client’s response to the final film, making the experience very rewarding.

Leave a comment